This is the "Not sure where to find what you need? Start Here!" page of the "Online Research Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Online Research Resources   Tags: databases, ebsco, jstor, oxford handbooks, research  

Online research resources for current PTS students, faculty and staff.
Last Updated: Jun 5, 2013 URL: http://ptstulsa.libguides.com/onlineresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Not sure where to find what you need? Start Here! Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

We'd like to know what you think!

Please let us know what you think of this guide!  Your input is important to us.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Which online resource should I use?

I need some general (reference) information but I know I shouldn't use Wikipedia but what else is there?

Credo Reference and Oxford Handbooks Online are great resources to get you started.  Both of these offer online access to a number of titles published by authoritative and trusthworthy academic publishers, that can be cited. Click the "tabs" in this guide for more information and links to these resources.

Which journals and electronic (online) resources does PTS "own"?  How can I find out?

EBSCO A-to-Z® provides links to all of the library’s e-resources, including e-journals, titles in full-text databases and e-journal packages, and eBooks. EBSCO A-to-Z offers users a “one-stop” search of your library’s e-collection, with easy navigation to full-text content.  However, you can't search for specific articles. See the next question.

How do I find a journal article?

You can find journal articles in EBSCO and JSTOR.  Both are "databases", which are large collections of journal articles, book reviews, etc.  EBSCO includes the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials, as well as Old & New Testament abstracts, PsychInfo, SocIndex, and many other useful databases.  JSTOR contains a number of journals in the Humanities.

Where can I do some initial research for a Biblical Studies paper?

Oxford Biblical Studies Online is a useful resource to get you started! OSBO provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. The integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible make Oxford Biblical Studies Online a valuable resource.

Oxford Bibliographies - Biblical Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource guides researchers to scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. This is a good resource for beginning your research.

Instruction & Electronic Resources Librarian

Profile Image
Clair Powers
Contact Info
Phone: 918.270.6431
Fax: 918-270.6490
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip